SoftPlan Mononpoly House SoftPlan Home Design Software SoftPlan 2014 Upgrade Information
SoftPlan+ information

Back| Print

Using the SoftPlan+ Cloud

As a SoftPlan+ subscriber, you have the ability to access your work from anywhere using the SoftPlan+ cloud drive. With a SoftPlan key and a high speed internet connection, you can continue working on your project from different systems or share your projects across multiple locations. 

Copying a Project to the SoftPlan+ Cloud

Projects can be selected to be saved to the SoftPlan+ online cloud drive for both new and existing projects. 

For a New Project

  1. To begin, select File  ® New  ® New Project. The New Project menu opens:  

  1. After specifying the project’s name and location, and the drawing information, place a check in the box next to Automatically copy to SoftPlan+ cloud. Your work will now be copied to the cloud drive automatically each time the project is closed.
  2. Select OK to save your changes.

For an Existing Project

If a project was not selected to be saved to the online cloud drive when the project was created, use the following method to add the existing project to the cloud.

  1. Within the project, select Model ® Project Information. The Project Information menu opens: 

  1. In the SoftPlan+ section of the menu, place a check in the box next to Automatically copy to SoftPlan+ cloud. Your work will now be copied to the cloud drive automatically each time the project is closed.
  1. Select OK to save your changes. 

Accessing Projects in the Cloud from the SoftPlan 2014 Start Page

When SoftPlan 2014 is opened, the start page contains a scrollable list of your projects with columns to indicate the local and online availability of each project. A third column indicates if the project has been published to the cloud for SoftPlan reView. 

Illustration 1

For the local and cloud columns, a green dot indicates that the project is available. A yellow dot indicates that the project is available but that it is an older copy than its local or cloud counterpart.

For example, in the above illustration, the local version of Project C has information that has not been copied to the cloud, so a yellow dot notifies the user that the cloud contains an older save of the project.

Finally, if a project has been published to the SoftPlan+ cloud to be opened in SoftPlan reView, a green dot appears in the reView column.

Note

Projects can also be expanded to view if individual components of the project are available locally, in the cloud, or for reView.

To do this, place the cursor on the green plus icon that corresponds to the desired project and click to view a list of drawings. Drawings can be further expanded to view 3D panoramas that have been created from specific rooms within the drawing (see Illustration 2). Click the icon again to collapse the list of drawings or panoramas.

Illustration 2 

Additionally, you can hover the mouse over a project name to see that project’s location (see Illustration 3):

Illustration 3 

Lastly, a project, drawing, or panorama can be right-clicked to open a list of options (see Illustration 4):

Illustration 4

Open Project

This option opens the latest copy of the project that is available. If a newer copy is on the cloud, it will download the newer copy to the local system before it is opened.

Download Project from Cloud

If you are certain you wish to open the copy of the project on the SoftPlan+ cloud rather than what may be on your local system, use this option to force SoftPlan to download the project from the cloud.

Delete from Cloud

This option deletes the project from the SoftPlan+ cloud. A prompt will appear asking you if you are sure you want to delete the project and all of its files from the cloud drive. Using this option will not delete any local copies of the project.

Delete Online reView Files

Select this option to delete all the reView files corresponding to the project from the SoftPlan+ cloud. A prompt will appear asking if you are sure you want to delete.

Sharing Projects Using the SoftPlan+ Cloud

Projects can also be shared between SoftPlan keys using the SoftPlan+ cloud. This is useful for downloading a project to a system at another location or sharing with multiple SoftPlan keys.

Receiving a Shared Project

When another SoftPlan key has shared a project with your key, the next time you start SoftPlan, the shared project will appear in your project list.

Illustration 5 

Noted beside the project’s name is the key number that shared the project, or the “owner.” From the start page, a shared project can be downloaded from the SoftPlan+ cloud to be saved and edited locally. 

To do this, click on the shared project’s name to open it. SoftPlan will download the project from the cloud to your local system and open it. Any modifications that you make to the project will be uploaded when you close the project. 

Note: SoftPlan will inform you when you try to open the project if anyone authorized to access the project already has it opened.

Sharing a Project

You can share your projects with other keys using the SoftPlan+ cloud. With the project open, select Model ® Project Information. To the right of the menu is section for sharing:

Illustration 6 

Owner

Key Number

This is the key number that is considered the “owner” of the project. When you share your project with another key, this number appears with the project to indicate ownership.

Owner Name

Use this box to include the owner’s name along with the SoftPlan key number.

Sharing With: 

Key Number

Use this box to enter the key number with which you want to share your project.

User Name

This option allows you to associate a name with the key number you are sharing with. This name is used to inform you of the user or users who already have the shared project opened.

Add User

Once the pertinent information has been entered, press this button to add the user to the sharing list located under the Add User button. Multiple users can be added to the sharing list.

Delete User

Use this button to delete a user from the sharing list. To delete a user from the list, click to highlight the user’s key number and/or user name and press the Delete User button.

Note: A project can only be shared by the owner.

Select OK when you are finished.

  Back| Print